Simply The Best!

Written by on November 5, 2019

Following an incredible result for the Springboks at the Rugby World Cup Final 2019, it’s still rather surreal that we are the World Champions for the 3rd time. The victory is made all the more sweeter when one considers that the Springboks are the only nation to boast a 100% win record in Rugby World Cup finals and are also yet to concede a try in a Finals match.

In what was an incredible display of “back-to-basics” rugby (set-up by solid forward dominance, strategic kicking and stylish back line finishing), their joy was further supplemented as the team were awarded the World Rugby Team of the Year, head coach Rassie Erasmus received the World Rugby Coach of the Year award and Pieter Steph Du Toit was awarded World Rugby Player of the Year.

The World Rugby Awards also witnessed six new inductees into the World Rugby Hall of Fame, based in Rugby, UK. They are;Richie McCaw (New Zealand)Shiggy Kono (Japan)Os du Randt (South Africa)Peter Fatialofa (Samoa)Graham Henry (New Zealand)Diego Ormaecha (Uruguay)
It’s now another 4-year wait until the 2023 showpiece, set to take place in France where a number of questions will hopefully be answered;

  • Will Japan’s quarter-final appearance in the 2019 Rugby World Cup prove to be a “one-hit-wonder” for any Asian nation?
  • Will Ireland finally make it past the last 8, having suffered their 7th quarter-final defeat in the 2019 Tournament?
  • Will we see even more red cards shown in 2023 than were shown in 2019 (double as many as any other edition of the tournament – 1995 & 1999: 4 red cards.

Until then “We Are The Champions” agaaaiiin….




Tagged as

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Continue reading

[There are no radio stations in the database]